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General 
Information 

Employers are required to withhold Occupational License Fees/Taxes from the gross salaries, wages, commissions, 
and other forms of compensation earned by employees for work performed within Louisville Metro, Kentucky. 
Louisville Metro includes the area within the boundaries of Jefferson County, Kentucky. 

Tax rates 
 
 
There are three basic tax 
rates that apply to wages 
earned within Louisville 
Metro, Kentucky. 

•  Resident employees - Employees who work and live in Louisville Metro, Kentucky, are subject to a tax rate of 
2.2% (.0220). The rate for resident employees is composed of: 

 Louisville Metro 1.25% (.0125)  
 Transit Authority .2% (.0020)  
 School Boards Tax .75% (.0075) 

•  Non-resident employees - Employees who work in Louisville Metro, Kentucky, but live outside Louisville Metro, 
Kentucky, are subject to a tax rate of 1.45% (.0145). The rate for non-resident employees is composed of: 

 Louisville Metro 1.25% (.0125)  
 Transit Authority .2% (.0020) 

•  Resident ordained ministers- Ordained ministers who work and live in Louisville Metro, Kentucky are subject to 
.75% (.0075) School Board Tax for services connected with his or her regular duties as a minister of religion. 

When to File 
 

Form W1-RET must be hand-delivered or postmarked by the last day of the month following the close of the calendar 
quarter.    

License Fee Return for: 
1st quarter (Jan 1 - Mar 31) 
2nd quarter (Apr 1 - Jun 30) 
3rd quarter (Jul 1 – Sep 30) 
4th quarter (Oct 1 – Dec 31) 

Filed by: 
April 30 
July 31 

October 31 
January 31 

Where to File The Revenue Commission offers an easy, secure, and convenient way to file and pay taxes on-line. For more 
information, access E-Services at https://www.metrorevenue.org. If a return is filed manually it should be mailed to 
the Louisville Metro Revenue Commission, P.O. Box 32300, Louisville, Kentucky 40232-2300, or hand-delivered to 
617 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, Kentucky 40202. All checks should be made payable to the Louisville Metro 
Revenue Commission and include Account ID. 

Requirement For 
Payment Of 
Monthly Deposits  
 

Every employer who is responsible for withholding occupational license fees/taxes greater than $3,000.00 during any 
one of the preceding four (4) calendar quarters must submit monthly deposits of the occupational license fees/taxes 
withheld to the Louisville Metro Revenue Commission. All monthly withholding tax deposits are due 15 days after the 
month end.  
Month Wages Were 

Withheld 
January 

February  
March  
April  
May  
June 

 

Deposit Due Date 
 

February 15  
March 15 
 April 15  
May 15  
June 15  
July 15 

Month Wages Were 
Withheld 

July 
August 

 September  
October  

November  
December 

Deposit Due Date 
 

August 15  
September 15 October 15  

November 15 December 15 
January 15 

Penalties for 
Failure to File 
and/or Pay 

There is a five percent (5%) penalty per month, or a fraction of a month, to a maximum of twenty-five percent (25%) 
of the total tax liability, for failure to file and/or pay a tax return by the regular due date. Pursuant to KRS 67.790, 
there is a minimum $25.00 penalty for failure to file any return or report by the due date. 

Interest Interest is computed at twelve percent (12%) per annum from the original due date until the date of payment.   

  

https://www.metrorevenue.org/
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READ INSTRUCTIONS BELOW TO COMPLETE FORM W1-KJC 
Demographics •  Enter full legal name under applicable section. (i.e. Individual/sole proprietor or Corporation/Partnership) 

 If you are filing as an Individual/sole proprietor you must provide your Social Security number. 
 If you are filing as a Corporation/Partnership you must provide your Federal ID number. 

•  If address has changed, check the box and provide new address. If address has not changed, enter current 
address on account. 

•  All returns must include Account ID and Quarter Ending (Month/Day/Year) 

Return Status •  A W1-KJC must be filed even if employer did not have employees during the quarter. 
•  If you permanently ceased having employees in Louisville Metro, Kentucky, you must provide a cease date. 
•  If you are filing an amended return, you must check the box labeled “AMENDED RETURN” 

Kentucky Job 
Credit Rate 

•  Select the Program Location 

•  Select the applicable percentage 

Withholding 
Calculation 

Line 1 Enter the gross wages paid to all employees for work that was performed within Louisville Metro, 
Kentucky.  

Line 1(a) Multiply gross wages (Line 1) by .0145 (Louisville Metro Tax 1.25% (.0125) and Transit Authority Tax .2% 
(.0020) 

Line 2 Determine what portion of the total Louisville Metro, Kentucky, wages (entry on Line 1) was paid to 
employees who did not live in Louisville Metro, Kentucky, during the quarter.  Enter the total on Line 2. 
(Exclude amounts earned by ordained ministers)   

Line 3 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This figure represents the total wages paid to employees who lived in 
Louisville Metro, Kentucky, for work that they performed in Louisville Metro, Kentucky. This is the total 
payroll subject to the School Boards’ Tax. 

Line 3(a) Multiply wages subject to the school board tax (Line 3) by .0075 (School Board tax) 
Line 4 Enter gross wages that qualified for the Kentucky Industrial Revitalization Act (KIRA), Kentucky Jobs 

Retention Act (KJRA), Kentucky Jobs Development Act (KJDA), or Kentucky Business Investment (KBI) 
credit for work performed in Louisville Metro, KY. 

Line 4(a) Multiply gross wages that qualify for job credit (Line 4) by selected job credit percentage. 
Line 5 Total Tax Due ( Line 1a + Line 3a minus Line 4a) 

Payments & 
Credits 
 
Note: Line 8 should be 
completed by only those 
employers who are 
required to make 
monthly deposits. 

Line 6 If return is filed past the due date see sections “Penalties for Failure to File and/or Pay” and “Interest” 
on first page on instructions. 

Line 7 Add Line 5 (total tax due) and Line 6 (penalty and interest). This represents the Total Amount Due 
Line 8 Enter the amount of tax that should have been withheld during each month of the quarter on the 

appropriate lines. (i.e. 8a, 8b, 8c) 
Line 9 Add Lines 8a, 8b and 8c. This figure is the Total Deposits paid for the quarter. This figure must be equal 

to Total Tax Due (Line 5) 
Line 10 If Total Amount Due (Line 7) is greater than Total Deposits (Line 9), The additional amount is to be paid. 
Line 11 If Total Deposits (Line 9) is greater than Total Amount Due (Line7), Enter the amount on Line 12 to have 

overpayment credited to the next quarter. 
Line 12 If Total Deposits (Line 9) is greater than Total Amount Due (Line 7), Enter the amount on Line 12 to have 

overpayment refunded. 

Signature •  If the return is being filed by a sole proprietor, it must be signed and dated by that individual. 
•  If the return is being filed by a corporation, it must be signed and dated by a corporate officer authorized to sign.   

•  If the return is being filed by a partnership, it must be signed and dated by a general partner.   

Preparer If return is filed by a third party, (CPA/Payroll Company) “Preparer Use Only” section on the bottom on return must 
be filled out in full. 

  

http://thinkkentucky.com/kyedc/pdfs/KIRA.pdf?02032016
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The following information must be completed and signed by the Chief Financial Officer (on the 2nd page of 
form W1-KJC) 

Income Incentive 
Information 
 
This information     ▶  
must be completed and 
signed by the Chief 
Financial Officer (on the 
2nd page of form W1-
KJC) 

A licensee claiming a Kentucky Industrial Revitalization Act (KIRA), Kentucky Jobs Retention Act (KJRA), Kentucky Jobs 
Development Act (KJDA), or Kentucky Business Investment (KBI) employer withholding occupational tax credit based 
upon an economic development inducement arising from an approved project, pursuant to KRS 154.24, shall file this 
information quarterly with the Louisville Metro Revenue Commission. 

 Line 1 Enter the total amount of the licensee’s approved tax credit inducement. (one fifth of the total state and 
local inducement for KJRA, KIRA, & KJDA projects or one-fourth of the total state and local inducement 
allowed by KBI) 

Line 2 Enter date upon which the project was approved. 
Line 3 Enter date when the licensee made the first tax credit claim upon the inducement. 
Line 4 Enter tax credits claimed arising from the inducement, for all quarters prior to the quarter indicated on 

the first page of this form. 
Line 5 Enter the amount, if any, by which the local inducement has been reduced because the licensee has 

taken part of its state inducement as a credit on its corporate income tax. 
Line 6 Enter the tax credit claimed on Form W1-KJC arising from the inducement for the quarter indicated on 

the first page of this form. 
Line 7 Enter the total remaining occupational tax credits arising from the inducement which the licensee claims 

is available to it after recognition of the tax credit claimed for the quarter indicated on the first page of 
this form. 

Line 8 Enter the base number of employees in Louisville Metro, Kentucky, prior to the approved project and of 
the number of new Louisville Metro jobs upon which the inducement was calculated. 

Line 9 Enter the licensee’s current number of employees at the end of the quarter indicated on the first page of 
form W1-KJC. 

 

http://thinkkentucky.com/kyedc/pdfs/KIRA.pdf?02032016

