LMCO CHAPTER 150.096
PROMULGATED FEES & REGULATIONS
EFFECTIVE November 12, 2013
CONSTRUCTION PERMITS AND INSPECTION FEES.

The following fees shall be charged and collected for Construction permits and

inspections issued or made by or under the authority of the Department of Codes and

Regulations.

Building & Tent
Electrical

HVAC — Mechanical
Fire Detection & Suppression
Moving

Wrecking

Sign

Parking Lot

Tax Moratorium
Penalty
Administration
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Building & Tent.

1. The permit fees for new construction, additions, complete alterations of an entire
building, tents and other temporary structures and change of Kentucky Building
Code Use Group Classification permits shall be calculated according to the
following table.

Kentucky Building Code Fee per
Occupancy type square foot
Assembly $.14
Business $.13
Educational $.13
Factory $.12

High hazard $.12
Institutional $.14
Mercantile $.13
Residential — 1 & 2 Family $.075
Residential - other $.13
Storage $.11

Utility; miscellaneous $.11

Tents Per schedule set by KBC, Section 430

2. Square footage shall be based on the number of square feet on every floor,
including all finished portions of basements, calculated to the outside of the
exterior walls.

3. The fee for partial alterations, structures other than buildings, or any type of work
that the square feet cannot be calculated; the fee shall be calculated by a
reasonable estimated cost to be submitted by the applicant and verified by the
Department. The fee shall be $25 plus $2.50 per $1,000 of estimated cost. The
Department may ask for factual verification of presented estimated costs, when
appropriate.

4. Any permit issued by the Department for which the Commonwealth of Kentucky
is responsible for conducting the required building inspections, shall be % the
normal amount.

5. A plan review fee shall be charged for all applications that are reviewed without
issuance of a building permit or requested refunds for issued permits. The plan
review fee shall be a minimum $30 or one third (1/3) the normal permit fee,
whichever is higher.

6. Fast-track elective. For permit applicants seeking early site/ foundation, shell

and/or phased approval prior to full review of complete set on construction
documents, the fee for foundations as listed in item (7) listed below shall apply;
however, shell permits and phased work will be charged the full fee using the
table listed in item (1). The following interior finish work or phased work will be
charged the full fee using the table listed in subsection(1).

Page | 2

January 1, 2013




7. The fee for a “foundation only” permit shall be $50 for single family dwellings &
their accessory structures and $100 for all other uses.

8. Permit fees for metro owned property projects may be waived by agreement of
the Director of Public Works and Assets and the Director of Codes and
Regulations.

9. The administrative fee for a Certificate of Use and Occupancy without issuance
of an associated building permit shall be $50.

10.No building permit fee calculated under this section shall be less than $50.

11.The fee for any additional inspections not covered by the initial permit fee shall
be $35. The Department shall have the right not to issue any additional permits
to the applicant until the additional inspection fees have been paid in full.

12.Before a building permit is issued by the Department for a one or two family
residential construction project or a multi-family residential construction project,
the Department shall conduct a search of its records to determine if the applicant
has any unresolved or uncured and outstanding Code violations. If the applicant
has no such unresolved or uncured and outstanding Code violations, then the
Department may issue the building permit, if otherwise appropriate. If the
applicant has unresolved or uncured and outstanding Code violations prior to the
issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy, the Department shall not issue a building
permit until such time as all the outstanding Code violations are removed, cured
or corrected by the applicant and all fines and/or fees paid in full.
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Electrical.

1. The fees for initial installation of electrical wiring in one or two family residences
shall be $160. This permit fee shall include three inspections.

2. The fee charged for the initial installation of electrical wiring in a condominium or
patio home residence/unit shall be $100 for the base permit. Additionally, the fee
shall be $.25 for each ampere at the service entrance up to and including 600
amperes, and $.50 for each ampere over 600 amperes. This permit fee shall
include three inspections.

3. The fee charged for service upgrade, new service, repairs or additional wiring in
a one or two-family, condominium or patio home residence shall be $50, which
shall include one inspection.

4. The fee for installation of new electrical wiring other than in a one or two family,
condominium or patio home residence shall be $50 for the base permit, $25 for
each subpanel, $25 for each dwelling unit in a residential structure other than
one or two family residences. Additionally, the fee shall be $.25 for each ampere
at the service entrance up to and including 600 amperes, and $.50 for each
ampere over 600 amperes. This permit fee shall include two inspections.

5. The fee for rewiring, new service or repairs in other than one or two family,
condominium or patio home residences shall be $50 plus an additional $25 per
each dwelling unit specifically involved in the work for residential property, or $25
per each subpanel specifically involved in the work for commercial property.
Additionally for new service, the fee shall be $.25 for each ampere at the service
entrance up to and including 600 amperes, and $.50 for each ampere over 600
amperes. This permit fee shall include one inspection.

6. The fee for the installation of a temporary pole shall be $50. This permit fee shall
include one inspection.

7. The fee for any additional inspections not covered by the initial permit fee shall
be $35. The Department shall have the right not to issue any additional permits
to the applicant until the additional inspection fees have been paid in full.

8. The fee for a Burnout repair on a service shall be $50 and shall include 1
inspection. Burnout/ damaged equipment shall be left on site until after the
inspection is performed.
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HVAC (Heating, ventilation and air conditioning) - Mechanical.

1. 1 & 2 Family Dwellings initial system shall be $75 for the first system, $50 for
each additional system. A system may be either a heating or cooling system, or a
combination system.

2. Multi-Family Dwellings initial system, shall be $75 for the first system, $25 for
each additional system. A system may be either a heating or cooling system, or a
combination system.

3. The minimum permit fee for other residential HYAC permits, such as
replacements, shall be $75. This does not include manufactured fireplaces.

4. Commercial/ Non-residential — each permit fee shall be calculated per the
following table based on cost total dollar value of each HVAC installation, either
actual or estimated. It shall be the obligation of the installing contractor to supply
the complete value, including labor and material costs regardless of the
purchaser. An exact figure does not need to be provided to the Department but
the application shall include an affirmed, signed statement that the value lies
within certain limits as listed in the left hand column of the table below.

Installation Cost, in $ Permit Fee, in $
2,000 or less 75
2,001 to 10,000 150
10,001 to 25,000 225
25,001 to 50,000 275
50,001 to 75,000 325
75,001 to 100,000 435
100,001 to 150,000 550
150,001 to 200,000 660
200,001 to 250,000 770
250,001 to 300,000 890
300,001 to 400,000 1,000
400,001 to 500,000 1,350
500,001 to 600,000 1,500
600,001 to 700,000 1,650
700,001 to 800,000 1,850
800,001 to 900,000 2,050
900,001 to 1,000,000 2,250
1,000,001 to 1,100,000 2,450
1,100,001 to 1,200,000 2,650
1,200,001 to 1,300,000 2,850
1,300,001 to 1,400,000 3,050
1,400,001 to 1,500,000 3,250
1,500,001 and above 3,450

Commercial/Non residential installations requiring permits include: heating/ventilation/air
conditioning systems; range hoods; chiller/cooling towers; commercial dryers; roof top
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units; and spray booths ventilation/exhaust systems. This does not include mechanical
refrigeration work.

5. Each permit shall include 3 inspections at no additional cost. The fee for any
additional inspections shall be $50. The Department retains the right not to issue
any additional permits to the applicant until the additional inspection fees are paid
in full.

6. The permit fee charged for the installation, replacement or addition of each
manufactured fire place (solid fuel, gas or electric) shall be $35.

7. Permit fees for mechanical refrigeration shall be $40 per compressor.

8. The fee charged for a gas restoration as required by the utility company, shall be
$35 per inspection for residential and $40 per inspection for commercial.

9. The fee for the installation, replacement or addition of a range hood shall be $75.
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Fire detection and suppression.

1. The fee for new installation and or replacement of a sprinkler system shall be as
follows:

Number of Sprinkler Heads Permit Fee, in $

4-200 150

201-300 175

301-400 210

401-750 250

751 and above 250 plus 20 cents for each sprinkler head

over 750

2. The fee for reworking up to 50 sprinkler heads on an existing sprinkler system
shall be $50. The fee for reworking over 50 heads shall be calculated using fee
table listed above.

3. The fee for automatic and/or manual fire detection systems shall be as follows: 0
to 20,000 square feet shall be $150; over 20,000 square feet shall be $150 plus
$20 for each additional 10,000 square feet in excess of 20,000 square feet.

4. The fee for a standpipe system shall be $150. On combination standpipe and
sprinkler systems the sprinkler permit fee includes the standpipe fee.

5. The fee for a carbon dioxide fire suppression system shall be $150 for the first
200 pounds of agent plus $.02 for every pound in excess of 200 pounds.

6. The fee for a clean agent suppression system shall be $150 for the first 35
pounds of agent plus $.06 for each pound of agent in excess of 35 pounds.

7. The fee for a foam suppression system shall be $.50 per gallon of foam
concentrate where the system is not part of an automatic sprinkler system. Foam
suppression systems that are submitted as part of an automatic sprinkler system
shall be reviewed under the sprinkler fee schedule. The minimum fee shall be
$150; the maximum fee shall be $ 1,500.

8. The fee for a range hood suppression system shall be $150.

9. The fee for a dry chemical suppression system shall be $150 for the first 30

pounds of agent plus $.25 for each pound in excess of 30 pounds.

10.The fee for a sprinkler underground piping only shall be $50
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Moving.

Moving permit requirements and fees are established in Chapter 152 of the Louisville
Metro Code of Ordinances.

Wrecking or demolition.

The building official shall issue three types of wrecking permits which shall be classified
as Type “A”, Type “B” and Type “C".

1. Type “A” permits shall be for any structure of not more than two stories or 35 feet
in height and contains less than 3,000 square feet of floor space (total square
feet of all floors). The fee for Type “A” wrecking permits shall be $50 for the first
1,000 square feet plus $10 for each additional 1,000 square feet or fraction
thereof.

2. Type “B” permits shall be for any structure that does not meet the criteria of Type
“A” permits. The fee for Type “B” wrecking permits shall be $75 for the first 1,000
square feet plus $10 for each additional 1,000 square feet or fraction thereof.

3. Type “C” permits shall be for any structure of not more than one story or 25 feet
in height or more than 1,500 square feet of floor space. Type “C” permits shall be
property owner permit only. Any permit that meets the requirement of a Type “C”
permit and is applied for by a licensed wrecking contractor shall be considered a
Type “A” permit. The fee for Type “C” wrecking permits shall be the same as
Type “A” wrecking permits. All applicants obtaining a Type “C” wrecking permit
shall post a $500 cash or certified check bond as security conditional upon
proper completion of the work. The cash bond shall be returned to the applicant
upon proper completion of the work. However, should the applicant not properly
complete the demolition of the building, including the required cleaning, grade
restoration and seeding within 60 days from the date of the issuance of the
permit, the applicant shall forfeit the bond unless an extension of time is granted
in writing by the Director for good cause. Any such extension must be requested
in writing at least three working days before the expiration of the 60 days period.
The Director is empowered to waive the required cash bond for structures
without a basement.

4. The fee for each 30 days of extension time shall be $30.

Sign.

The fee for a sign permit shall be $50 for up to 50 square feet of sign face as defined in
the Louisville/Jefferson County Land Development Code. The fee for signs over 50
square feet shall be $50 plus $1 per square feet over fifty square feet.
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Parking lot.

The fee for the original construction of a parking lot or expansion of an existing parking
lot shall be $50 for the first ten spaces plus an additional charge of $.25 for each
additional space over ten spaces.

Tax moratorium.

The administrative fee for a tax moratorium application shall be $45 for each property.
This fee shall be charged regardless of approval of the application.

Penalty.

A penalty fee may be assessed for starting work without a permit. The penalty fee shall
be the same amount as the standard fee, but not less than $ 500, except for electrical
work which shall have a minimum penalty fee of $1,000. The penalty fee shall be paid in
addition to the standard fee.

In cases where a permit fee was legally waived, the penalty fee shall be assessed upon
the above criteria as if the standard fee had been assessed.

Administration.

1. An administration fee in the amount of $30 shall be charged to an applicant for
obtaining other permits prior to issuance of the building permit as required by this
chapter.

2. An administrative fee in the amount of $30 shall be charged to an applicant for
failure to note on a permit application the previously issued building permit
number, if any, for the building or structure noted on said permit application.

3. An administrative fee of $30 shall be charged on all requested permit refunds for
issued Electrical, HVAC, Refrigeration, Range Hood and Manufactured Fireplace
Appliance permits.

4. There shall be a permit extension fee charge of $35 for every approved request
to reactivate an expired permit within 180 days of the expiration date. Requests
after this period will be subject to full permit fee.

5. Same day inspection fee. A permit holder at their option can elect to obtain a
same day inspection by making their request to the Department along with the
payment of the additional fee for this service. All such requests and payment
must be received by 10:00 AM. Monday through Friday (holidays not included)
for same day service to be provided. The same day inspection fee is $100 per
permit inspection
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