President Winkler announces Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2024 Metro Council Committees

January 16, 2024

Louisville (January 16, 2024) – Metro Council President Markus Winkler (D-17) has announced the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Metro Council’s Committees for 2024.

There will be eight standing committees this year, which will address the priorities and needs of Metro Government and the community.

“As we begin a new year, I’m pleased to announce the Chairs and Vice Chairs for the 2024 Metro Council Committees. The committee structure from last year proved effective, so I have only made a few small adjustments for this year,” said President Winkler. “I want to express my gratitude to my fellow Metro Council members for their contributions in making this process seamless and for their willingness to take on leadership roles within these committees.”

President Winkler will chair two committees, Committee on Committees and the Committee of the Whole, and serve as an ex officio member of all other committees.

The first committee week is scheduled for the week of January 22, 2024, and the next Metro Council meeting is scheduled for Thursday, February 1.

Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2024

Planning and Zoning
Tuesdays at 1:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
Madonna Flood (D-24) Chair
Scott Reed (R-16) Vice Chair

Labor, Economic Development, and Appropriations
Tuesdays at 3:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
 Phillip Baker (D-6) Chair
Robin Engel (R-22) Vice Chair

Public Works
Tuesdays at 4:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
Donna Purvis (D-5) Chair
Anthony Piagentini (R-19) Vice Chair

Government Oversight, Audit and Appointments 
Tuesdays at 5:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
Brent Ackerson (D-26) Chair
Jeff Hudson (R-23) Vice Chair

Equity, Community Affairs, Housing, Health, and Education
Wednesdays at 1:30 p.m. (Committee Week)
Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair
Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice Chair

Public Safety
Wednesdays at 4:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
Tammy Hawkins (D-1) Chair
Dan Seum, Jr. (R-13) Vice Chair

Parks and Sustainability
Thursdays at 3:00 p.m. (Committee Week)
Cindi Fowler (D-14) Chair
Marilyn Parker (R-18) Vice Chair

Thursdays at 4:30 p.m. (Committee Week)
Rick Blackwell (D-12) Chair
Kevin Kramer (R-11) Vice Chair

Committee on Committees
Tuesdays at 4:00 p.m. (Council Week)
Markus Winkler (D-17) Chair
Paula McCraney (D-7) Vice Chair

Committee of the Whole 
Thursdays at 5:15 p.m. (Council Week)
Markus Winkler (D-17) Chair
Paula McCraney (D-7) Vice Chair

Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste and large-item set-out dates. Sign up for large-item set out and street sweeping reminders by email and text!

Use the Metro311 Online Portal,
our 311 mobile app or email to report something to us!

Call Metro311 at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.