President James announces Chairs and Vice-Chairs for 2018 Metro Council Committees

January 23, 2018

Louisville – Metro Council President David James (D-6) has announced the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Metro Council’s Standing Committees for 2018.

Several of the Metro Council’s Standing Committees will be realigned to focus on key issues and address priorities and needs for Metro Government.

“I want to thank the members who have agreed to serve as chairs and vice chairs this year. I want to make sure we continue the positive efforts the Metro Council has made in recent years,” said James. “The Council has recently adopted some committee changes that will strengthen our oversight of Metro Government and I believe we are ready to begin a new year with our focus on serving the people of Metro Louisville.”

Among the changes:

Appointments is a free standing committee
Contracts has been merged with Labor and Economic Development
Sustainability & Parks has been separated from Public Works & Transportation and the two are now separate committees
The new Government Oversight Committee has new powers and has incorporated the old Government Accountability, Ethics and Intergovernmental Affairs Committee.
Community Affairs & Housing is now a separate committee
Health & Education is now a separate committee

President James will chair two committees: the Committee on Committees and the Committee of the Whole.  The President of the Metro Council is also an ex officio member of all other committees.

Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2018


Committee on Committees:

David James (D-6) Chair

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) Vice Chair


Committee of the Whole:

David James (D-6) Chair

Cheri Bryant Hamilton (D-5) Vice Chair


Appropriations NDF’s and CIF’s:

Rick Blackwell (D-12) Chair

Julie Denton (R-19) Vice Chair



Bill Hollander (D-9) Chair

Kevin Kramer (R- 11) Vice Chair



Mary C. Woolridge (D-3) Chair

Marilyn Parker (R-18) Vice Chair


Community Affairs and Housing:

Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair

Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice - Chair


Government Oversight, Audit and Ethics:

Brent Ackerson (D-26) Chair

Scott Reed (R-16) Vice - Chair


Health & Education:

Angela Leet (R-7) Chair

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) Vice – Chair


Labor, Economic Development and Contracts :

Marianne Butler (D-15) Chair

David Yates (D-25) Vice Chair


Parks, Sustainability:

Cindi Fowler (D-14) Chair

Brandon Coan (D-8) Vice Chair


Planning, Zoning, Land Design, and Development:

Madonna Flood (D-24) Chair

Glen Stuckel (R-17) Vice Chair


Public Safety:

Jessica Green (D-1) Chair

James Peden (R-23) Vice Chair


Public Works, Facilities, Transportation and Accessibility:

Pat Mulvihill (D-10) Chair

Robin Engel (R-22) Vice Chair