Metro Council members encourage the community to celebrate Juneteenth in a unique way this year

June 18, 2020

Louisville – With the support of several Metro Council members and officials at Waterfront Park, all of Louisville Metro will have the opportunity to celebrate an important moment in America’s history when slavery officially ended.

The Juneteenth Jubilee Celebration, a seven-part weekly series, begins airing locally on traditional broadcast outlets and social media this Friday, June 19th in a new unique format to reach a wide audience.

“Because of concerns raised with COVID 19, a planned celebration at Waterfront Park has been postponed this year,” says Councilwoman Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4). “However, the importance of this event and its place in history is too great for the community to ignore. The alternative is a celebration of music and history, a teaching moment at a time when we need to be reminded of the strides that have been made for equality.”

The Juneteenth Jubilee video series will consist of seven 15-minute episodes that commemorate the Juneteenth holiday, which marks the final communication of the abolition of slavery in the United States of America on June 19, 1865, two and one-half years after the Emancipation Proclamation. The episodes will be released weekly each Friday across various platforms and will feature artistic performances, as well as educational content capturing the celebratory nature of the historical Juneteenth holiday.

Each Friday the series will air on Friday on WAVE Country and online at  and  beginning on June 19, 2020. The series will also be available to the Jefferson County Public School System, PBS and all forms of Social Media.

Joining Councilwoman Sexton Smith as sponsors for this important series, Council members Keisha Dorsey, (D-3), David Yates, (D-25), Jessica Green (D-1), Barbara Shanklin (D-2), President David James (D-6), Bill Hollander (D-9), Pat Mulvihill (D-10), Kevin Triplett (D-15), Stuart Benson (R-20), Madonna Flood (D-24), Rick Blackwell (D-12),Mark Fox (D-13),Cindi Fowler (D-14), Anthony Piagentini (R-19), Nicole George (D-21), James Peden (R-23),Brent Ackerson (D-26), Markus Winkler (D-17), and Robin Engel (R-22).

Contributing sponsors include, the Black Community Development Corporation, Papa Johns, Manna Inc., the Rajon Rondo Foundation, Mayor Greg Fischer, WAVE 3 News, and 1200 LLC.

To learn more about the Juneteenth Jubilee Series go to: