Metro Council Honors Outstanding Community Leaders at 15th Annual Black History Month Program

February 23, 2017

Louisville – On Thursday, February 23rd, the Metro Council’s Community Affairs, Housing, Health and Education Committee will hold a special meeting to honor outstanding community leaders and volunteers as part of its 15th Annual Black History Month Program.

          The meeting begins at 12:00pm in the Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

          “Every year, this Committee and the Metro Council take great pride in honoring some unsung heroes in our community. It is our way of saying thank you to the citizens in our districts who work for change,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair of the Committee. “Through their dedication and efforts our communities are better places to live.”

          One group will be honored during the program along with 26 individuals.

Below is a list of the honorees for the 15th Annual Black History Month Program:

Special Community Honoree:

National Hook-Up of Black Women Inc.

Louisville Chapter

Since its inception in January 2014, the Louisville Chapter of the National Hook-Up of Black Women, Inc. has strived to improve the lives of families through support of the arts, culture, health and wellness, education and human service programs.  The group’s works with others to fulfill a national mandate to be advocates for women and their families.

Special Youth Honoree:

Shan’Taya Cowan

Shan’Taya Cowan is an eighteen year old Fairdale High School Senior and the first student ever, at this school, to be accepted to Harvard University!  She is also the first family member to attend college.


The 2017 Honorees:


District        1                  John Cole III

District        2                  Emma F. Jackson

District        3                  Ruby Hyde

District        4                  Pamela Haines

District        5                  Dave W. Christopher, Sr.

District        6                  C J Fletcher

District        7                  Rob H. King III

District        8                  Anthony Raspberry

District        9                  Professor Lisa H. Nicholson

District        10                Carolyn Miller-Cooper 

District        11                Azell Jackson

District        12                Wanda Ramsey

District        13                Spencer Concrete Services, Inc.

District        14                Loletha Cumings

District        15                James Grant

District        16                Dr. Kimathi William Doss 

District        17                Georgetta Smith

District        18                Richard Curry

District        19                Laverne Davis

District        20                Kellie R. Watson

District        21                Coach Chris Peters

District        22                Tim Long

District        23                Major Michael Bogan

District        24                Earlena Sledge

District        25                Major Frank Hardison

District        26                Rev. Meredith L & Rose Trabue


The Community Affairs, Housing, Health and Education Committee’s 15th Annual Black History month program will be carried live on METRO TV, Time Warner Cable Channel 25.  For UVERSE Subscribers, the meeting airs on Channel 99. 

You can also watch the meetings online by going to the Metro Council home page at and click the “Watch Meetings Online” button.