Metro Council honors Outstanding Community Leaders

February 22, 2018

Louisville – On Thursday, February 22nd the Metro Council’s Community Affairs and Housing Committee held a special meeting to honor outstanding residents and volunteers as part of its 16th Annual Black History Month Program.

“Reaffirming Our Diverse Culture” is the continuing theme of the program, which concludes the month long celebration of Black History Month in Louisville Metro.  It begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

“For 16 years now, the Metro Council has believed it is important to thank the many unsung heroes who give their time and talent to their communities and neighborhoods,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) who chairs the Committee.  “Through their example, not only are those in need helped but they inspire others to get involved in public service. This is one way of thanking them for all they do.”

One special group will be honored during the program along with 26 individuals.  Below is a list of the honorees of for the 16th Annual Black History Program:


2018 Group Award: 

The Mary Alyce Sweeney Foundation

The Foundation was created by the family and friends of Mary Alyce Sweeney of Louisville. She lived by two very simple rules: give back to the community and be a bridge over troubled waters to those in need.   The Foundation continues her spirit of giving and making dreams come true by touching the lives of others through community service, care packages, domestic abuse services and outreach. The Foundation works to support our ethnically diverse community in educational and social needs.


2018 Honorees

District 1 Robert Cunningham

District 2 Gloria Crayton

District 3 Mary Maiden  

District 4 Jackie Floyd

District 5 Evelyn Glass

District 6 Rev. H. Wayne Colbert

District 7 Archie Bailey and the Moonglows

District 8 Stacey L. Robinson

District 9 Terrian Barnes

District 10 Stephan M. Williams

District 11 Officer Eddie Phillips

District 12 Christie McCravy

District 13 Officer Anthony Mabrey

District 14 Roger Thompson

District 15 Jarren Thomas

District 16 Tanisha Ann Hickerson

District 17 Kyle Brooks

District 18 Reagan Patrick Roy

District 19 Kenneth F. Hayden Sr.

District 20 Deon Reese

District 21 Abdourachid Farah

District 22 Coach James Schooler

District 23 Roy Sutton

District 24 Tenneil Edelen

District 25 Officer Dwight Mitchell

District 26 Rosalind M. Cole

The Community Affairs and Housing Committee 16th Annual Black History month program will be carried live on METRO TV, Spectrum Cable Channel 184.  For UVERSE Subscribers, the meeting airs on Channel 99. 

You can also watch the meetings online by going to the Metro Council home page at and click the “Watch Meetings Online” button.