Metro Council to honor Outstanding Community Leaders and Volunteers

February 18, 2020

Louisville – On Thursday, February 20th the Metro Council’s Community Affairs, Health and Education Committee will hold a special meeting to honor outstanding residents and volunteers as part of its 18th Annual Black History Month Program.

“Reaffirming Our Diverse Culture” is the continuing theme of the program, which concludes the city-wide month-long celebration of Black History Month in Louisville Metro.  It begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street.

          “The people we honor today, through their efforts, make our community a better place to live,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D-2) who chairs the Committee.  “Each year, the Metro Council takes a moment to shine the spotlight on citizens in our districts who work for change and help others. This is our way of thanking them for what they do.”

          One special group will be honored during the program along with 26 individuals.  Below is a list of the honorees of for the 18th Annual Black History Program:


2020 Group Award: 


Newburg Senior Citizens

The Newburg Seniors Citizens meet weekdays at the Newburg Community Center and these “seasoned” attendees participate in numerous learning experiences, including, but not limited to bingo, arts and crafts, exercise and everyday “what’s happening” talk sessions. They hold an annual Derby Fashion/Luncheon Show; and recently hosted a Valentine’s Brunch in which our community youth helped to prepare the meal.

The Newburg Seniors support numerous community endeavors, such as the annual Newburg Days Festival, Light-up Newburg, and the R.S.V.P. programs. To ensure youth in our community receive a nutritious evening meal, these seniors also participate in the Kids Café program.


2020 Honorees

District       1                  Lawrence F. Montgomery

  District     2                Nicole Adell

  District     3               Beverly Chester-Burton, Ed. S.

  District     4               Queenie Averett

  District     5               LaVon Clack

  District     6               Marie Clay

  District     7               Robert Henderson

  District     8               Darnell Ferguson

  District     9               Lavel D. White

  District     10              Wanda Mitchell-Smith 

  District     11              James Lanier

  District     12              Joseph Marshall II

  District     13              Geoffrey James

  District     14              Mary Phaire

  District     15              Ruth Cowherd

  District     16              Ricky Owens 

  District     17              Andrew Terry

  District     18              John Taylor, Jr.

  District     19              Rev. Warren Muir

  District     20               Patrick McKinney

  District     21              Dr. Renee Campbell

  District     22              LaShawn M. Marshall

  District     23              Denise Bentley

  District     24              Hallie Rice

  District     25              Lad Dillard

  District     26             Lynn Beckham


Theresa Durham, a member of Peace Presbyterian Church, will provide musical selections for the program. She is a Registered Nurse, a Seminary Student, and a Health and Wellness Coordinator for the Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary.

The Community Affairs, Health and Education Committee’s 18th Annual Black History Month program will be carried live on Metro TV, Spectrum Cable Channel 184, or on UVERSE at Channel 99.

All meetings of the Metro Council are streamed live. Go to the Metro Council Home page at  and click on the Metro Council Agendas link.