Mayor Fischer Unveils New Historic Structure Recognition Program

January 16, 2015

Mayor Greg Fischer today unveiled a new historic structure recognition program that will promote and recognize the best of the best in historic preservation within Louisville’s seven local historic preservation districts and individual landmarks. 

Through the new program, historic structures that meet the basic design guidelines for the Secretary of the Interiors will qualify to purchase a plaque to be installed near the front location of the house or structure.  The plaques will visually tie together the best historically preserved structures in Louisville.

Property owners in the seven historic preservation districts or owners of individual landmarks that have been historically preserved or maintained may qualify for the plaque and are encouraged to visit to apply online. 

The seven historic preservation districts are:  Butchertown, Cherokee Triangle, Clifton, Limerick, Old Louisville, Parkland, and West Main Street.

The Conrad-Caldwell House Museum, located in Old Louisville, is the first structure to be recognized with the plaque.  The house was built between 1893 and 1895 and is a strong example of historic preservation.

To learn more about the Conrad-Caldwell House and Museum, visit