May 25 2020 President David James condemns Sunday’s action at the Kentucky State Capitol regard the hanging of an effigy of Governor Andy Beshear

President David James (D-6) has released the following statement concerning the Second Amendment Rally which took place Sunday in Frankfort

May 22 2020 Mayor Fischer announces Virtual Hike, Bike and Paddle for Memorial Day weekend

Mayor Greg Fischer today announced a first-of-its-kind Virtual Hike, Bike and Paddle in place of the traditional event that draws thousands of cyclists, paddlers, walkers and fitness fanatics to Waterfront Park twice a year.

May 22 2020 Mayor Fischer names Lacuna Health to be Louisville’s COVID-19 contact tracing contractor

Mayor Greg Fischer today announced that Lacuna Health has been awarded the contract to conduct contact tracing as part of the city’s effort to contain the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

May 21 2020 Louisville invites participants to 502Con, city’s inaugural virtual violence prevention conference, planned for this Saturday

In partnership with Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, the Metro Office for Safe and Healthy Neighborhoods and the Youth Violence Prevention Research Center (YVPRC), local youth leaders Imani Smith, Jailen Leavell and Ahmaad Edmund today announced a new virtual conference for Louisville youth, focused on violence prevention.

May 21 2020 LMPD Chief Steve Conrad announces retirement

Today Louisville Metro Police Department Chief Steve Conrad notified Mayor Greg Fischer of his decision to retire at the end of June.

May 21 2020 Mayor reminds Louisvillians to request an absentee ballot by June 15 for upcoming primary election

Mayor Greg Fischer is reminding all registered voters in Louisville to vote using mail-in absentee ballots to reduce in-person contact amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Governor Andy Beshear and Secretary of State Michael Adams announced an Executive Order on April 24 that lifted most restrictions on Kentucky’s absentee ballot voting to allow all eligible voters to vote by mail in the June 23 primary.

May 21 2020 Mayor Fischer hosts tele town hall about challenges facing local restaurants reopening during the COVID-19 pandemic

Mayor Greg Fischer talked with members of Louisville’s restaurant scene today about the issues they are facing as authorities begin lifting restrictions placed on their establishments during the

May 21 2020 Councilwoman Dorsey announces drive-thru COVID 19 testing site for the people of Shively this Saturday

Councilwoman Keisha Dorsey (D-3) announces another opportunity for drive-thru COVID 19 testing will take place this Saturday, May 23rd at the Shively Community Center.

May 21 2020 The Apolitical Edition of District 8 eNews is live!
May 20 2020 Councilwoman Sexton Smith releases statement concerning events surrounding the shooting of Breonna Taylor

Councilwoman Barbara Sexton Smith (D-4) has released the following statement and call for action in the shooting death of 26-year-old Breonna Taylor

May 20 2020 As the community begins to reopen, Mayor Fischer boosts the city’s COVID-19 testing and tracing capabilities

Mayor Greg Fischer today outlined steps he is taking to significantly boost the city’s COVID-19 testing and tracing capabilities, as the city and state move ahead on a gradual reopening of the ec

May 19 2020 Mayor Fischer talks about need for mental health awareness during today’s tele town hall

Mayor Greg Fischer today discussed mental health amid the COVID-19 pandemic during a tele town hall featuring experts from the mental health community.

May 19 2020 Public Safety Committee to discuss the recent shooting of Breonna Taylor and LMPD policies on “no knock” warrants

The Metro Council’s Public Safety Committee has invited the attorneys for the family of Breonna Taylor and Louisville Metro Police Chief to discuss the recent shooting of the 26-year-old EMT on Wednesday May 20th.

May 19 2020 Councilwoman McCraney invites District 7 residents to join her for the first virtual “Muffins with McCraney”

As a way of staying in touch during COVID 19, Councilwoman Paula McCraney invites District 7 residents to join her for a virtual “Muffins with McCraney” this Saturday, May 23.

May 18 2020 Mayor Fischer announces the latest public safety steps to ensure more transparency and strengthen public trust