Mayor Fischer announces 2020 Youth Implementation Team

November 21, 2020

Mayor Greg Fischer today joined the Office for Safe and Healthy Neighborhoods and One Love Louisville Ambassadors to announce the members of the 2020 One Love Louisville Youth Implementation Team, a one-year advisory board to the Mayor.

“I’m thrilled that these young people have joined our team and have the strong desire to make a difference, especially when this year has presented us with so many challenges,” said Mayor Fischer. “This team will bring their perspectives as well as develop leadership skills that will help our city to heal and transform.”

Created by the Mayor in 2015, the Youth Team is managed by the Office for Safe and Healthy Neighborhoods to elevate the voices of young people on matters that impact them and their hometown. During this 2020-2021 term, the team will build advocacy skills, become more civically engaged, and collaborate with government, community, faith and corporate organizations.

The team also will play a pivotal role in next year’s National Youth Violence Prevention Week, where more than 75,000 local students come together to raise awareness and educate the public on effective ways to prevent or reduce youth violence.

 “Unfortunately, many of our young people have been significantly impacted by the pandemic and subsequent uptick in violence this year. Despite the hardships, our 2020 Youth Implementation Team cohort is eager to begin the necessary work to address issues of violence within our communities. We are excited to have this team on board to help work on root causes of violence, including much-needed policy initiatives that have the potential to shift the landscape of violence in some of our communities,” said Monique Williams, Director of the Office for Safe and Healthy Neighborhoods. “Our team is diverse and representative of multiple segments of our city. Their voices and perspectives are necessary as we engage in the work of violence prevention.”

The Mayor’s team will determine a focus area that will fall within one of five core engagement areas: Criminal Justice, Economic Development, Community Building, Education, or Mental Health & Social Wellness.

Last year’s team crafted two approved resolutions, “Restorative Justice for Youth” and “Improving Mental Health Outcomes for Youth.” Mayor Fischer, who is the president of the U.S. Conference of Mayors, shared the team’s work with conference members, who approved both resolutions.  

The 2020-2021 One Love Louisville Youth Implementation Team members are:

Fadumo Abdullahi, University of Louisville, Metro Council District 6
Nigel Blackburn, JCTC, Metro Council District 5
Haley Brents, University of Kentucky, Metro Council District 5
Ayomide David, Waggener High School, Metro Council District 9
Emily Gordon, Ballard High School, Metro Council District 2
Emily Hodge, Ballard High School, Metro Council District 26
Shari Joseph, Fern Creek High School, Metro Council District 22
Marray Lewis, Ballard High School, Metro Council District 24
Avdullahi Otun, The Academy at Shawnee, Metro Council District 21
Solyana Mesfin, Iroquois High School, Metro Council District 19
Chris Nuckols, University of Louisville, Metro Council District 12
Erica McPheeters, Central High Magnet Career Academy, Metro Council District 22
Milayzia Shouse, Ballard High School, Metro Council District 11
Imani Smith, Centre College, Metro Council District 11
Christopher Stafford, Pleasure Ridge Park High School, Metro Council District 14
William Stone, Ballard High School, Metro Council District 9
Sydney Tucker, Spalding University, Metro Council District 2                                     

To learn more about the team, visit