Councilman Magre to serve on the Historical Landmarks and Preservation Commission

March 25, 2015

Louisville – President David Tandy (D-4) announces that Councilman Steve Magre (D-10) will serve as the Metro Council representative on the Historical Landmarks and Preservation Committee for 2015.

“I look forward to working with members of this Commission as we do the important work of preserving our city’s past for future generations while at the same time working with many other partners as our city grows and develops,” said Magre.

The Landmarks Commission is comprised of 13 members who are appointed by Mayor Fischer to serve a 3 year term.  The diverse group of individuals who serve on this Commission have a known interest in local landmarks and historic preservation. 

It has the task of overseeing Louisville Metro's local preservation districts and individual landmarks designations which recognize, preserve, and protect the city's significant historic and architectural resources for the entire community.

The Commission is responsible for establishing a local oversight process for design review of all exterior alterations, demolition, and new construction involving older structures in the city. This review process is conducted by the Landmarks Commission staff and the Architectural Review Committees.

The Commission meets on the third Thursday of each month.