Commissioned glass artwork dedicated at historic chapel at Riverside, the Farnsley-Moremen Landing
A dedication event for new glass art windows was held today at the historic Moremen Family Chapel in southwest Louisville, on the grounds of Riverside, the Farnsley-Moremen Landing, 7410 Moorman Road.
The commissioned artwork, created by nationally renowned and Louisville-based artists Bob Markert and Peter Eichhorn, was made possible with a donation from Louisville Gas & Electric to the nonprofit organization that supports the historic homestead.
Originally located at Dixie Highway and Bethany Lane, the chapel was relocated to the grounds at Riverside in 2006, where it underwent a nearly one million dollar restoration and renovation last year. The chapel facilities provide a unique venue for weddings, meetings, historic interpretation, and other community and special events at Riverside, a property managed by Louisville Metro Parks & Recreation in partnership with the Riverside, the Farnsley-Moremen Landing, Inc.
“Visitors will be overwhelmed by the beauty that Bob Markert and Peter Eichhorn created,” said Reba Doutrick, chair of the nonprofit. “We’re grateful to LG&E, not only for the generous donation that made possible this stunning art glass window, but for its continuing support of projects and events here at Riverside.”
The panels in the front and rear of the chapel depict scenes related to the history of the Farnsley-Moremen house and grounds, as well as the flora and fauna found in the area. The new window designs complement the existing 1940’s-era stained glass windows lining the side of the chapel by using similar colors, shapes and forms, while projecting a fresh and contemporary homage to the nature of the space and surrounding landscape.
“The chapel’s move to Riverside, its full restoration and rededication in 2013, and the completion of its magnificent stained glass windows this year have all enhanced the chapel’s value as a community treasure,” said Laura Douglas, LG&E vice president of Corporate Responsibility and Community Affairs. “We are thrilled to have been a part of this labor of love, and, like our neighbors throughout the area, we’re looking forward to enjoying this beautiful landmark for years to come.”
About the artists
C. Robert (Bob) Markert has been designing in glass for fifty years. He has produced stained glass windows for more than 500 churches, chapels, and secular sites across the country. He co-founded Fenestra Studios with frequent collaborator, Peter Eichhorn. Coming from farming roots in Hardin County, Bob’s love for flower gardening and animals is apparent in the design he created for the Moremen chapel windows. Bob recently retired as the Executive Director of the Stained Glass School for the Stained Glass Association.
Peter Eichhorn, born in Trier, Germany, won several European art glass competitions before coming to the United States. Peter started Fenestra Studios with Bob Markert, and later opened his own highly successful and renowned studio Eichhorn Stained Glass (now Eichhorn Art Glass) in Louisville. His commissions include numerous sanctuaries in many parts of the country. Peter works in all facets of the art glass industry – painting, staining, beveling, engraving, and etching – as well as all aspects of repair and installation.
About the Moremen Family Chapel
Built in 1888, the chapel was located originally at Dixie Highway and Bethany Lane, serving as the first home to the Bethany United Methodist congregation. In 2003, having outgrown the chapel and ready to move to another site, the Bethany congregation offered the chapel to Riverside because of the important historical and familial connection to the Riverside property. Relocation of the chapel to the Riverside took place in 2006.
The completion in 2013 of a $928,000 restoration and renovation project included construction of an outdoor courtyard, meeting rooms, public facilities, sidewalks and landscaping. The restored chapel and facilities were supported by a complementary state-funded project which included construction of a half-mile-long access road, connecting the chapel to the Farnsley-Moremen house, Visitors Center and Pavilion, located on the south side of the property.
About Riverside, the Farnsley-Moremen Landing
Standing atop a gentle rise overlooking the Ohio, the Farnsley-Moremen House (built circa 1837) is the centerpiece of a 300-acre historic site in Louisville called Riverside, the Farnsley-Moremen Landing. Riverside exists to promote, preserve, restore and interpret historic farm life on the Ohio River. Visitors can tour the historic house and grounds. A modern visitors' center houses an auditorium, museum exhibits, and a museum store.