Local Preservation Districts & Architectural Review Committees

Louisville has seven local Historic Preservation Districts and numerous Individual Landmarks. These designated Districts and Landmarks are overseen by the Landmarks Commission and certain development and renovation projects within a District or affecting a Landmark are reviewed by Architectural Review Committees (ARCs). These cases, which are determined by the Landmarks Ordinance, are typically exterior modifications to properties including new construction, demolition, or other more complex projects.
Each ARC consists of seven members including two Landmarks Commissioners, one Department of Codes and Regulations designee, and four volunteer members from the community who fill specific, required roles. Those roles include a resident within the district, an architect, an owner of income producing property located within the district, and a real estate professional. All members must have a known interest in preservation.
The ARCs meet as required on the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of the month with the meeting times listed below. Hearing times can fluctuate depending on the volume of cases scheduled. Special hearing dates are sometimes scheduled to accommodate specific projects. Meetings take place in Room 101 at 444 South Fifth Street.
Cherokee Triangle 4:30 p.m.
West Main Street 5:00 p.m.
Butchertown 5:30 p.m.
Clifton 5:30 p.m.
Old Louisville 5:30 p.m.
Parkland Business 6:00 p.m.
Limerick 6:30 p.m.
Individual Landmarks 7:00 p.m.
The estimated time commitment for ARC members is approximately 20 hours per year. All volunteer ARC members will serve a three year term. Members may be appointed to additional terms by the Landmarks Commission. To view Architectural Review Committee meetings, agendas and meeting summaries, please click here
Any interested person may apply online in the form below. Upon a review of all candidates, the new member will be appointed by the Landmarks Commission with final approval by Metro Council.