Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of 10 members, 8 of whom are appointed by the Mayor subject to the approval of the Metro Council.

The Commission conducts regular and special meetings as it deems necessary. Five members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum. 

Kentucky Revised Statutes

Plan 2040, the current comprehensive plan for Louisville Metro/Jefferson County

The Land Development Code, the zoning requirements for Louisville Metro/Jefferson County

Land Develoment Codes for other cities with zoning authority 

Bylaws and policies of the Commission

What types of applications does the Commission review?

The Planning Commission considers Change in Zoning requests and holds a public hearing. Public testimony is taken at these hearings, however the Planning Commission may limit the time of testimony.  For Change in Zoning requests, the Planning Commission makes a recommendation to the appropriate legislative body.  The legislative body has final authority to approve or deny a Change in Zoning request.  Decisions by the legislative bodies may be appealed to the courts. 

The Planning Commission routinely meets on the first and third Thursday of each month at 1:00 p.m. in the Old Jail Auditorium located at 514 W. Liberty Street. If there are individuals who want the hearing time of a Change in Zoning request after normal working hours, they may submit a petition signed by 200 property owners in Louisville Metro/Jefferson County at least 15 days before the scheduled hearing date and the hearing will be rescheduled. A petition with 300 signatures assures a public hearing after normal working hours in a convenient location. This petition would also need to be submitted at least 15 days before the scheduled hearing date and the hearing would be rescheduled. To view the application to hold a Planning Commission meeting in the evening its normal downtown location, click here. To view the application to hold a Planning Commission meeting in the evening at a convenient location, click here.  
The Planning Commission has the following subcommittees:

  • Land Development & Transportation Committee: Reviews zoning changes and subdivisions.
  • Development Review Committee: Reviews development proposals.
  • Planning Committee: Reviews development and maintenance of the Comprehensive Plan per KRS 100, currency of various implementation measures (zoning & subdivision regulations, small area & neighborhood plans, and capital improvement programming), agency goals and objectives, annual & multiyear work programs, and any other land use & development policy document.
  • Policies & Procedures Committee: Reviews the documents and practices of the Planning Commissions and of PDS staff.

Who is on the Commission and how can I apply to serve on it?

Review the current membership of the Commission and apply to serve on a commission by clicking the link below:


Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste collection days. Schedule a Large Item Pickup appointment and sign up for street sweeping alerts!

Use the Metro311 Online Portal,
our 311 mobile app or email to report something to us!

Call Metro311 at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.