Regions of The Loop

Regions of The Loop

Loop Map

The Loop is divided into five distinct physiographic regions. A physiographic region is a large-scale portion of land defined by its distinct geology (the rocks underneath the soil), topography (hills, valleys, and flat spots), communities of native plants and animals and history.  The Louisville Loop travels through five physiographic regions: the Ohio River Valley, the Knobs, the Shale Lowland, the Floyd’s Fork watershed and the Limestone Belt. Each one tells a different story of why Jefferson County looks the way it does today.  So while you pass through these five distinct regions, take a little bit of time to marvel at the beauty and diversity of the landscape. We hope that highlighting the physiographic regions of the Loop will help you learn about and enjoy the landscapes, history and neighborhoods of each region . The Loop also connects with Olmsted Parkways.

(Geological information courtesy of Barbara Conkin, Why Are the Highlands High?)

Open and Ready to Explore

Ohio River Valley

Floyds Fork 

Planning in Progress  

The Knobs

Limestone Belt 

Shale Lowlands

How to Find Your Way on the Loop




Mile Markers


Important Definitions, Key aspects of the Loop Definitions

Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories…

  • Sanitation Services
  • Emergency Services
  • Political Info
  • General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste and junk set-out dates. Sign up for junk set out and street sweeping reminders by email and text!

Notice: The Metro311 Service Request Portal and the 311 mobile app will be offline from Wednesday, June 12 at 7 p.m. until Tuesday, June 18 at 8 p.m. as we prepare to launch our new and improved business & 311 portals. After June 18, there will be a new mobile app for reporting issues to 311. The link to download the app will be available on the Metro311 website. We appreciate your patience during our transition. During our outage period you can reach us by calling 311, emailing us or by chatting with us. Learn more now.

Report Something to Us!

  • Call MetroCall at 311 or (502) 574-5000
  • Email MetroCall
  • Live Chat - Look for our Live Chat tool in the bottom right corner of our site and chat with MetroCall.