City Holidays

2021 Official Metro Government Holiday Schedule

Below is a listing of the official Louisville Metro Government holidays for which eligible employees shall be granted the day off with appropriate pay. Please note that holidays may vary depending on your collective bargaining agreement and also if you are considered an employee working in an emergency operations position that requires a 24/7 schedule.

New Year’s Day – Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday – Monday, January 18
Memorial Day – Monday, May 31
Juneteenth -- Friday, June 18
Independence Day – Monday, July 5
Labor Day – Monday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day – Thursday, November 25
Friday Following Thanksgiving Day – Friday, November 26
Christmas Day – Friday, December 24
New Year’s Day – Friday, December 31

Some city holidays can alter our sanitation service schedule for garbage, recycling and yard waste pickup.  Please check the Public Works website for alerts at the top of the page for more information during these times.

Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste and large-item set-out dates. Sign up for large-item set out and street sweeping reminders by email and text!

The new Metro311 Reporting System and our new 311 mobile app is live!

Report Something to Us!



Call MetroCall at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.