About Us

The Division of Community Forestry (Division) is responsible for:

  • Enforcing Louisville Metro's Tree OrdinanceDivision of Community Forestry Logo
  • Overseeing the planting and maintenance of street trees on public property;  Including the permitting to plant, prune, and remove tree on public property of Metro maintained streets, unless the property pertains to a park or parkways
  • Leading the community through tree best management standards 
  • Working unilaterally with other city agencies and urban forest stakeholders to ensure the health and vitality of Louisville’s community forest

Division Staff

  • Erin Thompson - Urban Forester/Community Forestry Supervisor, ISA Certified Arborist KY-0813A, TRAQ
  • Chris Wiedamann- Community Forestry Arborist, ISA Certified Arborist IN-3532A
Division of Community Forestry contact:
527 West Jefferson St, 6th Floor, Suite 606
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 574-3927