Domestic Violence Prevention Coordinating Council

The Domestic Violence Prevention Coordinating Council (DVPCC) was established through ordinance in 1996.  It was charged with the general purpose: to improve interagency cooperation and communication in the area of domestic violence and abuse; to promote effective prevention, intervention, and treatment techniques which is developed based upon research and data collection; and to improve the response to domestic violence and abuse so as to reduce incidents thereof. 

To assist the Council in its work, ongoing committees have been formed including:

  • Interagency Committee – Created to serve as a forum for ongoing information sharing and problem-solving, to provide assistance with program research and development, and to prioritize and implement recommendations around advocacy in the Community Assessment.
  • Fatality Review Committee – Established to identify areas and opportunities for enhancing coordinated agency and community responses to domestic violence. The Committee utilizes a systems-review approach in conducting multidisciplinary and multi-agency examinations of domestic violence fatalities.
    • Family Input Review Task Group – Established in November 2013 to develop a mechanism for incorporating family member input into the fatality review process.
  • Community Assessment Steering Committee – Convened to facilitate the prioritization and implementation of the recommendations provided in the Community Assessment Report. The following workgroups have been created to implement the recommendations in the report:
    • Law Enforcement Workgroup 
    • Courts Workgroup 
    • Training, Public Awareness and Prevention Workgroup 
    • Legislative and Firearms Workgroup
    • Data Collection Workgroup 
    • Batterers Intervention Workgroup 

Council Membership
Members of the Council are appointed by the Mayor and includes the elected leaders and policy makers within the local criminal justice system, citizens, treatment providers, legislators, social service providers, attorneys, domestic violence and sexual assault victim program providers, medical professionals, etc. 

  • Judge Lori Goodwin, Co-Chair, Family Court Judge
  • Marcia Roth, Co-Chair, Mary Byron Project
  • Craig Greenberg, Mayor Louisville Metro Government
  • Jerry Collins, Director, Louisville Metro Corrections Department
  • Judge Ann Bailey Smith, Chief Judge, Jefferson Circuit Court
  • Judge Jessica Moore, Chief Judge, Jefferson District Court
  • Judge Christine Ward, Chief Judge Jefferson Family Court
  • Gerina D. Whethers, Jefferson County Commonwealth's Attorney
  • Mike O’Connell, Jefferson County Attorney
  • Dan Fountain, Director, Kentucky Probation and Parole
  • Leo Smith, Director, Louisville/Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation
  • Jennifer Chappell, Councilwoman, Louisville Metro Council 
  • David L. Nicholson, Jefferson Circuit Court Clerk
  • Col. John Aubrey, Jefferson County Sheriff
  • Gretchen Hunt, Louisville Metro Office for Women
  • Toni Rice, Louisville Metro Youth Transitional Services
  • Crystal Wilder, Cabinet for Families and Children, Adult Protective Services
  • Elizabeth Wessels-Martin, President, Center for Women and Families
  • Robin Embry, Court Ordered Batterers Program
  • Bert Guinn, Jefferson County Medical Society
  • TBD, Jefferson County School Board           
  • Nima Kulkarni, Jefferson County Legislative Delegation
  • Dr. William Ralston, State Medical Examiner
  • Jo-Ann Farmer, Jefferson County Coroner
  • Pam Darnell, Family & Children’s Place
  • Dee Baltimore, Louisville Bar Association
  • LaTosha Perry, Local Business Organization
  • Patti Klika, Citizen Representative
  • Karina Barillas, La Casita Center 
  • Shannon Derrick, Citizen Representative
  • James Wilkerson, Citizen Representative
  • Amanda Corzine, Citizen Representative 
  • Jerry Bowles, Fatality Review Committee Co-Chair
  • Tara Hagerty, Fatality Review Committee Co-Chair
  • Nicole Carroll, Interagency Committee Co-Chair
  • Beth Robinson-Kinney, Interagency Committee Co-Chair

Council Meeting Schedule 
The Domestic Violence Prevention Coordinating Council meets quarterly.

Time:           12:00 p.m.
Location:     Crown Room, 6th Floor
                    Jefferson Judicial Center
                    700 West Jefferson Street
                    Louisville, KY 40202

Meeting Summaries







Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste and large-item set-out dates. Sign up for large-item set out and street sweeping reminders by email and text!

Use the Metro311 Online Portal,
our 311 mobile app or email to report something to us!

Call Metro311 at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.