About the Commission


Louisville Ky Image


The Criminal Justice Commission is pleased to announce that Judge Tanisha Hickerson has been appointed as Chair of the Louisville Metro Criminal Justice Commission Board effective January 1, 2022.


The Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for criminal justice and public safety planning, research, and system-wide coordination and collaboration. The 29-member Commission Board is comprised of key local, state, and federal criminal justice and public safety representatives, metro government officials, as well as citizens representing the community. Established in December 1967, the Louisville Metro Criminal Justice Commission has been in continuous operation for more than 52 years, making it one of the oldest criminal justice planning agencies in the country.  Previously known as the "Crime Commission", its name was changed in April 2003 to the Criminal Justice Commission to better reflect its expanded comprehensive mission which focuses on not only criminal justice matters, but public safety issues as well. The benefits of effective planning are numerous and include improvements in coordination and cooperation; a multidisciplinary analysis of criminal justice and public safety issues, programs, and services; and an evaluation of the overall quality of justice. In addition, comprehensive planning provides more effective allocation of resources, the establishment of clear goals, objectives, and priorities, and ultimately results in enhanced service and increased public confidence in the system. Through its planning and coordination role, the Commission Board and staff attempt to support the local system's ability to administer justice and public safety in a cost-effective, equitable, and efficient manner. Most importantly, the Commission has provided the community with an impartial forum for discussing pressing issues, most of which require a systemic and coordinated approach to effect change. Coordinated approaches cannot occur without this neutral forum that allows agencies to work together to create solutions.  These solutions are formulated into policy decisions that complement the systemic efforts of the whole.



The mission of the Criminal Justice Commission is to improve the administration of justice and promote public safety through planning, research, education, and system-wide coordination of criminal justice and public safety initiatives.



  • Collect and analyze data and publish reports on the incidence and nature of crime as well as its overall impact on the criminal justice system workload
  • Generate recommendations for improvements in criminal justice system operations to promote efficiencies
  • Educate the public and engage community residents on issues and challenges facing the criminal justice system
  • Provide assistance in criminal justice program development and, when possible, secure and administer state or federal funds for specific projects


2022 Legislative Committee Recommendations

FY 22 Strategic Priorities

2021 MCJC Annual Report



The Commission Board serves in an advisory capacity for the local criminal justice system. It is the goal of the Commission Board to promote consensus-based decision making and encourage the development of effective and cost-efficient criminal justice policies and practices. The Commission generates recommendations and takes positions to advance systemic and balanced solutions to criminal justice issues. The Criminal Justice Commission Board is comprised of 29 members including:

Judge Tanisha Hickerson, Criminal Justice Commission Chair

Greg Fischer, Mayor, Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government

Erika Shields, Chief, Louisville Metro Police Department    

Jerry Collins, Chief, Louisville Metro Corrections Department

Monique Williams, Director, Safe and Healthy Neighborhoods

Judge Mitch Perry, Chief Judge, Jefferson Circuit Court

Judge Annette Karem, Chief Judge, Jefferson District Court

Judge Denise Brown, Chief Judge, Jefferson Family Court

Thomas Wine, Jefferson County Commonwealth’s Attorney

Mike O’Connell, Jefferson County Attorney

Dan Fountain, Director, Kentucky Probation and Parole

Angela Darcy, Director, Office of Pre-Trial Services For Jefferson County

Leo Smith, Director, Louisville/Jefferson County Public Defender Corporation

Kristen Miller, Executive Director, Louisville Bar Association

David James, President, Metro Council

Endora Davis, Director, Louisville Metro Youth Detention Services

David L. Nicholson, Jefferson Circuit Court Clerk

Col. John Aubrey, Jefferson County Sheriff

Kelsey Doren, Jefferson Trial Courts Chief Court Administrator

Libby Mills, Director, Restorative Justice Louisville

Abby Drane, Chief Executive Officer, Seven Counties Services 

Ryan Nichols, President, River City Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 614

Daniel Johnson, President, Fraternal Order of Police Lodge 77

Doug Scott, Citizen Appointment, Substance Abuse

George Eklund, Citizen Appointment, Homelessness

Dr. Deonte Hollowell, Citizen Appointment, Victim Advocacy

Yolanda Moore, Citizen Appointment, City at Large

Joan "Toni" Stringer, Citizen Appointment, City at Large     

Donald Vish, Citizen Appointment, City at Large                             

R. Shawn Morrow, Special Agent in Charge, Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

J. Todd Scott, Special Agent in Charge, Drug Enforcement Administration

Jodi Cohen, Special Agent in Charge, Federal Bureau Of Investigation



The Criminal Justice Commission meets at least six times a year and provides a forum in which components of the criminal justice system can improve the analysis of system issues and develop systemic and balanced solutions across agencies. Each year, the Executive Committee convenes to review Commission projects and initiatives, and identify topics for Commission meeting agendas. Members of the Executive Committee consist of Board Co-Chairs and Board Committee Chairs/Co-Chairs. 

For the 2022 Criminal Justice Commission Board meeting dates click here. 

Time:           2:00 p.m.
Location:     Crown Room, 6th Floor
                    Jefferson Judicial Center
                    700 West Jefferson Street
                    Louisville, KY 40202


CJC Meeting Summaries


February 20, 2020

June 18, 2020

August 20, 2020

September 17, 2020

December 10, 2020



February 18, 2021

April 15, 2021

June 17, 2021

October 21, 2021



February 17, 2022

April 21, 2022







Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste and large-item set-out dates. Sign up for large-item set out and street sweeping reminders by email and text!

The new Metro311 Reporting System and our new 311 mobile app is live!

Report Something to Us!

Call MetroCall at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.