Freedom Award- Keepers of the Dream

Keepers of the Dream Info

Join The Kentucky Center’s ArtsReach program, River City Drum Corp and the Office of Mayor Greg Fischer for Keepers of the Dream sponsored by Republic Bank, a Community Arts Celebration of Dr. King’s Vision. Keeper's of the Dream

The 7th annual Keepers of the Dream, hosted by poet Brandon B Shatter Harrison, will feature presentation of the Mayor’s Freedom Award, ArtsReach Living the Vision Awards, Westerfield Tolbert’s recitation of Dr. Martin Luther King, JR.’s speech, along with dance, music, and spoken word.

The Freedom Award, first presented in 1987, recognizes citizens that have dedicated their lives to promoting justice, peace, freedom, non-violence, racial equality and civic activism.

Manfred Reid Sr., a longtime advocate for affordable housing in Louisville, is the 2017 recipient of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award. 

Manfred ReidReid will be presented an award of blown glass created by Ché Rhodes, Associate Professor, Head of Glass, University of Louisville Hite Art Institute.

Last year’s winner was George Burney Sr. Other previous winners include Ed White, Suzy Post, Ishmon Burks, state Rep. Darryl Owens, Charlie Johnson, Merv Aubespin, Dr. Bernard Minnis, Ben Richmond, Raoul Cunningham, Georgia Davis Powers, Ed Hamilton, Lyman T. Johnson, Beverly Watts, Sam Watkins and Deborah Todd.

Performances include ArtsReach Dance and Violin Studios from Chestnut Street YMCA, Shawnee Arts and Cultural Center, WESTEC and West End School.  Other featured artists are Natya Kendra Dance Academy, Pennies & Roses, Made New, poet Alexis Meza, liturgical dancers Saved By Grace, and the River City Drum Corp Drum Line.

In addition to the performance and awards ceremony, the lobby will be busting with activity prior to the event pre-show entertainment by Louisville Leopard Percussionists and 13 exhibitors from local organizations. Following the main program, there will be a post-show celebration in the lobby featuring River City Drum Corp. There is also a post-event reception hosted by Juelps Catering at Sullivan University

Artwork by Long Pham 

Keepers of the Dream sponsors

Manfred Reid Sr. and Mayor Fischer at 2017 Keepers of the Dream
Manfred Reid Freedom Award
2017 Keepers of the Dream Photos


2016 Recipient - George L. Burney Sr.

Freedom Award Recipient