Air Pollution Control Board

The Air Pollution Control Board is the regulatory authority for air pollution control in Louisville Metro/Jefferson County. Board members are private citizens. The members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Metro Council. The Board adopts regulations, orders, and resolutions as needed to control air pollution.

Board members are appointed for a term of three years and then continue to serve until reappointed or a successor is appointed. A Board member may be reappointed to another 3-year term. An appointment to a vacancy shall be for the remainder of the original term.

Board MembersInitially AppointedAppointment Expires
Stephen Sullivan (Chair)11/29/201811/29/2024
Dr. Geoffrey Cobourn¹ (Vice Chair)03/9/201708/31/2024
Kandice Shobe-White04/25/201904/25/2025
Marisa Neal08/12/202106/30/2026
Dr. Sajjad Jameel12/11/202306/30/2026
Charlie Bell12/11/202306/30/2026
Vacant Board Position  
¹Section 128(a)(2) of the Clean Air Act requires the disclosure of a Board member who derives a 
significant portion of his/her income from an entity subject to APCD permits or enforcement orders.

Board Member Biographies

The regular meeting of the Board is the third Wednesday of each month at 10 a.m.  The Board invites the public to attend. The Board normally meets at 701 W. Ormsby Ave., Louisville, Ky., 40203, but may meet elsewhere in the community. Please refer to the Board agenda for that month’s meeting location.

The Board holds public hearings regarding proposed regulatory amendments, Board orders, and other air pollution issue. Public hearings are generally held prior to the regular monthly Board meeting.


The Policy and Strategy Committees are standing committees of the board and meet on an as-needed basis.

Policy Committee

Responsibilities of the Policy Committee include:

  1. Review the following parts of APCD Regulations:
    • Part 1, General Provisions
    • Part 2, Permit Requirements
    • Part 3, Ambient Air Quality Standards
    • Part 4, Emergency Episodes
  2. Review related Kentucky State Implementation Plan issues.
  3. Such other duties as directed by the Board Chair.

Members include²:

  • Stephen Sullivan (Chair)
  • Kandice Shobe-White

Strategy Committee

Responsibilities of the Strategy Committee include:

  1. Review the following parts of APCD Regulations:
    • Part 5, Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
    • Part 6, Standards of Performance for Existing Affected Facilities
    • Part 7, Standards of Performance for New Affected Facilities
  2. Review related Kentucky State Implementation Plan issues.
  3. Such other duties as directed by the Board Chair.

Members include²:

  • Dr. Geoffrey Cobourn (Chair)
  • Marisa Neal

²Unless listed as a regular member of a committee, the Board Chair is an ex-officio member of all committees except the nominating committee when appointed. As an ex-officio member, the Board Chair has the same rights as the other committee members, but is not obligated to attend meetings of a committee and is not counted in determining if a quorum is present.

Contact the Board

For more information about Board activities or to contact a Board member, please e-mail the Secretary-Treasurer or call (502) 574-6000. You may also use physical mail with this address:

Air Pollution Control Board
Attn:  Secretary-Treasurer
701 W. Ormsby Ave., Ste. 303
Louisville, KY  40203

You can also use our on-line mailing list request form to receive information about Board meetings, public hearings and more via email.

Enter your address and MyLouisville will find nearby city services in the following categories:

  • Garbage Icon Solid Waste Services
  • Police Badge Icon Emergency Services
  • Political Info Icon Political Info
  • House Icon General Location Info

Find your garbage, recycling, yard waste collection days. Schedule a Large Item Pickup appointment and sign up for street sweeping alerts!

Use the Metro311 Online Portal,
our 311 mobile app or email to report something to us!

Call Metro311 at 311 or (502) 574-5000

No service has been selected.

No form has been selected.