Louisville Metro Urban Search & Rescue


The Louisville-Metro Urban Search & Rescue Team (LMUSAR), through our demonstrated commitment to our community, its citizens and its visitors, is dedicated to provide rescue of persons from collapsed structures and or hazardous conditions due to natural or manmade disasters, or acts of terrorism.


The LMUSAR team was formed from two entities in 2005. Louisville Fire Department created two special response teams (Rescue 2 and Rescue 11) in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s to deal with rescue situations that were more technical than firefighting alone. In the early 1990’s the Jefferson County, Kentucky Fire Departments were also organizing a unit to respond to trench collapses. In 2005 the newly formed Louisville-Jefferson County Metro Government secured an Urban Area Securities Initiative grant and the two entities joined forces to create LMUSAR.

Because the UASI grant covers 13 counties in North Central Kentucky and South Central Indiana the team also consists of agencies that lie outside of Louisville Metro.

Agencies that are currently participating in the LMUSAR Team

Anchorage FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Buechel FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Camp Taylor FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Fairdale FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Fern Creek FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Harrods Creek FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Highview FD- Jefferson County, Ky.

Jefferson-Town FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

LaGrange FD-Oldham County, Ky.

Louisville FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

Lyndon FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

Middletown FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

North Oldham FD-Oldham County, Ky.

Oldham County EMS-Oldham County, Ky.

Okolona FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

Shelby County EMS-Shelby County, Ky.

Shelbyville FD-Shelby County, Ky.

Shepherdsville FD- Bullitt County, Ky

South Oldham FD-Oldham County, Ky.

St. Matthews FD-Jefferson County, Ky.

Worthington FD- Jefferson County, Ky.