Brightside Newsroom 

Brightside Announces 2014 Board of Directors

Friday June 13, 2014

Brightside Announces 2014 Board of Directors

Six-teen new members for non-profit focusing on clean, green, and sustainable activities

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (June 13, 2014) – Brightside announced the appointment of nine new voting and seven ex-officio members of its Board of Directors, as well as the full slate of officers and board members for 2014.

Joining the board are Amy Cahill, Brandon Coan, David Ark, Jane Ramsey, Will Fensterer, Mark Duffee, Monica Black, Nick D'Andrea and Tony Ellis. “I am excited to welcome our new members,” said Brightside’s Executive Director Gina Iorio O’Brien. “We have a great blend of board members in place that are capable of taking Brightside to the next level and will continue to help make Louisville a world-class city.”

Brightside’s Board is responsible for conducting the affairs and business of the agency. They also strive to carry out the mission of Brightside by uniting people in clean and green activities that beautify and foster pride in our community through volunteerism, planting, sustainability and education. As Brightside continues to expand its reach in the community, the Brightside Board will help ensure that Louisville continues to be a clean, green, and sustainable community. The Directors, appointed by Mayor Greg Fischer, serve at minimum a two-year term.

The slate of board members for 2014:
Louis Straub, II - Board Chair, Chase Bank
David Ark, Strothman+Co.
Barry Barker, TARC
Monica Black, Grainger
Amy Cahill, Stites & Harbison, PLLC
Brandon Coan, Local Interest Consulting
Nick D'Andrea, UPS
Mark Duffee, CSX
Robert J. Ehrler, LGE - KU Energy
Tony Ellis, Thompson, Miller & Simpson PLC
Will Fensterer, Capital Access Corp - KY
Mike Hext, Waste Management
John Korfhage, Korfhage Landscape and Designs, Inc.
Derrick Littlejohn, Stock Yards Bank & Trust
Katherine Mapother, Arts Education Consultant
John McCafferty, John McCafferty Advertising
Mary Ann Palmer, Texas Roadhouse
Roy Potts, Coca-Cola Refreshments USA, Inc.
Mary Lea Quick, Thoroughbred Research Group
Jane Ramsey, University of Louisville
Margaret Wendler, Republic Bank

In addition, the following seven members have been added in a non-voting Ex-Officio capacity on Brightside’s Board of Directors. All of these partners have a strong role and vision in helping collectively achieve a clean, green, beautiful and sustainable, One Bright City:

Mike Heitz, Louisville Metro Parks
Lynn Huffman, Gallopalooza
Brian Bingham, MSD
Katy Schneider, Tree Commission
Maria Koetter, Office of Sustainability
Pete Flood, Louisville Metro Government- Solid Waste Management District
Ken Herndon, Louisville Downtown Management District